• Disrupt
  • Posts
  • Interview with Jazib Zaman

Interview with Jazib Zaman

Jazib Zaman is an entrepreneur and philanthropist who founded TechAbout in 2017. He is also the CEO of TechAbout’s miniature TechEngage that is Pakistan’s first Tech blog with a global presence. He wants to empower individuals with technical expertise by providing them a platform to express themselves.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I have been that kid you would find in every family that is obsessed with technology. All the tech-related queries as minor as why my cousin’s laptop won’t load would come to me. So, you see I always had this intuition of technology in me.

They say that a child sees themselves becoming some things in their childhood at different instances. Fortunately or some of you may say, unfortunately, for me, it remained constant. I had no idea what I would be in the next 15 years back then, but deep down I could feel it in my bones that my name will be associated with technology, one way or another.

What intrigued me were the stats of the contributions of people from in the IT world. Throughout my college years, I happened to come across people who were experts in coding, and who’d keep themselves always updated about technology, have out-of-the-box ideas for new apps and yet lacked the avenue to channel their passion. So, it won’t be wrong to say that they gave me a perspective to look at things that I paired with my inherent desire.

I was the one-person army with only a handful of people having faith in me. And here I am still growing and deriving my motivation my surroundings.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your company?

Yes, I have quite a few, but the one I am sharing with you is going to be very relatable to, I hope, many of you.

So, remember when you started studying Pre-medicine how every aunt in your family would ask you about their never-ending headaches on family gatherings. Studying a medical related degree gives them all the more reason to consult you on medical associated problems.  Likewise, starting a software house, there are other connotations attached.

One day, my maternal aunt came up to me and asked, ‘if I send my son pursues a degree in Computer science, I would not have to worry about him being jobless because you are going to hire him, right?’

And from there started a long list of members of my family expecting me to employ their kids when they are done with their degrees.

And you’d be surprised that I don’t have even a far-off relative working for me.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Well, we all have tons of embarrassing moments that give us something to laugh at later on. As an entrepreneur, I never really made a funny mistake, but I did an amusing misunderstanding that I’d like to share. Back when I had just started, I was invited to one of the technology conferences that used to take place every once in a while. Being the kind of the ‘family-first’ person that I am, I didn’t hesitate to take my entire crew there. What I didn’t know back then was that these kinds of conferences only allow one or max two representatives along with the CEO. My entire marketing team had to wait outside while I attended the conference. And when I came outside with the rest of the CEOs of different companies, my entire team was standing outside, and the CEOs thought that they were the host team that was meant to take them to their accommodation menu. So, it was sort of embarrassing and funny as well.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

I have been asked that question a lot of times, to be honest. Each time, nostalgia hits me hard whenever I think about this particular instance.

If you look at the slogan of my company, it says ‘Digitalizing human potential.’ I not only firmly believe in making that happen, but I also realize that it is the responsibility of people like us to provide IT students, experts, and budding startups a channel to express themselves.

To put it simply, I believe what makes TechAbout stands out is the fact that no matter how ordinary your idea may seem to you, we value it and make sure it looks as great as it did in your head when you first thought about it. Every effort counts and TechAbout is all about making sure that it does.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I have a good one. You might have heard this one a gazillion times before, but honestly, the reason why I have chosen to talk about this is that it matters this much.

Never let the bad times take a toll on you. Starting a business is a bumpy road. You will have your low points as well as the high ones. Businesses develop the art of getting by after a certain amount of experience and exposure.

We tend to think extraordinary for ourselves. What we often seem to forget that good things take time. Our business is not going to be a success within a short span of time. Comparing ourselves with others is very less likely going to act as a motivation. Start by setting achievable targets; take baby steps. Hang in there, especially during the bad times.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

I would not have been what I am today had it been not for my father’s constant support. Having parents that support you is not rare but having them believe in you even when you don’t even make sense is.

Both of my parents have been immensely supportive throughout this rollercoaster of a ride.

Pulling all-nighters consistently was hard, but my father was stayed by my side. He would not sleep if I didn’t. His relentless faith in me made me all the more determined towards my cause.

Further, I would like to thank my younger brother Advocate. Zeshan S. Ghumman for his extreme support in setting up the software house and my friend Muhammad Omer Shiekh for providing me motivation in setting up this great venture.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?  

See, the thought process behind ‘Digitalizing human potential’ is to serve humanity. My passion towards what I do stems from the fact that people lack platforms that are not only thinking about their profit. TechAbout’s project ‘’TechEngage’’ primarily focuses on providing a platform to young content writers, graphic designers, and startups to get their efforts recognized around the globe. The site does not make a dime out of the efforts of its team.

Our tech magazine aims to educate people about technology, help them use technology, and keep them up-to-date about everything that comes under the ambit of technology.

Do you have a favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share a story of how that was relevant to you in your life?

‘’No matter what anybody tells you, words and ideas can change the world.’’

–       John Keating

This proverb has had a huge impact on my life. I could not

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me before I started my company” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

The five things that I will be talking about are the things, I believe, everyone must take into consideration while starting their company.

Don’t hesitate to invest in your company: Most of us are told to think twice before investing in their business because of the risks every investment entails. Take it from me; the money you invest in your own business never goes to waste. It will prove to be beneficial for you one way or another. One of the most important things that many of us miss out is the fact that we tighten our hands when it comes to spending on our own business. And somewhere in saving for a better opportunity, we tend to miss the opportunity that could have been better.

Secondly, I think that everyone needs to have a mentor or an advisor that could analyze the situation as an outsider. Because you can never critically examine your work with as much precision as others can. So, you always need somebody to give you constructive feedback. I wouldn’t say that I never had a mentor as my father there, but that’s also problematic. Families can never be brutally honest with you when it comes to business. You need a person outside your family with business acumen.

Thirdly, I have come to realize that evaluating how you performed by comparing yourself with your competition is capable of acting as a demotivator for you. When I started, many of the people around me gave me examples of others in the field that were literally like the masters one should learn from. I got demotivated in the beginning thinking how bad I am doing compared to them. But then I realized that I can’t really compare myself with them because (a) they have been in the business from quite a while now, and (b) their vision is different from mine. And the vision part is important because it is your vision that is going to reflect in your work at the end of the day.

There’s not much left that I wish I someone had told me before I started my company, but I have two pieces of advice to give:

1.     Have a clear vision and make sure your brand remains consistent with it

2.     Keep growing and never settle for less.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

If I were to start a movement, it would definitely be a movement where everybody’s potential is given its due worth and recognition. Being an entrepreneur myself, I understand the dilemma every beginner has to face; the dilemma of whether a particular risk is worth it or not. This dilemma takes a toll on people, and many of them end up being skeptical about their ideas.

People need to be told that they are capable of doing wonders. Their ideas can make a huge difference. If I ever get the power to change one thing, I’d give people the strength to believe in themselves. It is this conviction that is going to make them succeed in life and make a difference in others.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or my web page.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!