• Disrupt
  • Posts
  • Interview with Entrepreneur Rueben Wood

Interview with Entrepreneur Rueben Wood

I had the pleasure of interviewing Rueben Wood, the 27 year old who is originally from Brunswick, GA, that made his way by becoming a media consultant, Actor/Director, & Media Personality for his own show, and most importantly the owner of SOM Magazine and SOM Networks. Throughout his career as a journalist, Wood has had the opportunity to meet a list of entertainers, celebrities and other business owners.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Well, to start, I was always a salesman at heart and low key doing marketing since the third grade. I started selling candy throughout school and always had to find new ways to sell and market what I had since it made no sense to buy boxes or bags of candy and just keep it in my back pack.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your company?

I would say one of the most interesting things was meeting Mark Rufalo,  specifically because I was like wow you know, I’ve come this far with my business and brand to be able to do this and do marketing and media for a lot of great people.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Overthinking and spending too much time on things. Some of my best work has come from just executing and not thinking at all about the work at hand.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

I think it’s just me, and the name itself. When I originally started SOM it was more of a magazine only and more geared toward music and artist. Years later we are helping small and major brands engage with the masses and me myself continues to curate more content for the public.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Don’t worry about anyone else, focus on you and only you. It helps, trust me. Nobody really cares if you rise or fall except you, you can either tell yourself you can do it, or you can stop yourself from doing. So be your own biggest motivator so to speak.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

Actually majority of my success didn’t necessarily come from help, it actually came from me really working a lot and connecting with others. I’ve me so many people along the way that consider close associates that I’m grateful for, and thankful for encouragement and a connection where was needed and I always will be.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?  

Yes from doing charity events, to sharing stories that shed light on global issues.

Do you have a favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share a story of how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Believe in yourself.” Going through life and starting s business is not easy at all, so with my own self doubt I had to overcome that and not look back.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me before I started my company” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

Become a commodity

Have good time management

Read more books

Let go of doubt, fear, and depression

Keep your job until it is truly not an option.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement  that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I would start a grow your own garden movement, I feel as though the world is set up on so much division and separation that we as a whole forget to look at the simple things already given to us. What each person started their garden? Would it end world hunger? Would make more people get up and exercise because they have a reason? Would it help the agriculture system when crops don’t grow? Would it limit disease outbreak? Who knows, but that’s what my movement would be.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

@realruebenwood on all platforms

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!