• Disrupt
  • Posts
  • Interview with Darion Kitchens CEO of Kitchens Equity Group

Interview with Darion Kitchens CEO of Kitchens Equity Group

I had the pleasure of interviewing Darion Kitchens CEO of Kitchens Equity Group, raised in Irvington, NJ. Darion Kitchens is a multiple business owner and local non-profit organizer, everything from a real estate investing to and financial consulting company. The 26-year-old multiple business owner knows no limits when it comes to business, and while talking to him you can tell fear especially in business is nonexistent to this young man.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you share with us the story of how you decided to pursue this career path? What lessons can others learn from your story?

Thank you so much for having me. It is truly a great honor, Thank you. This is my first interview, so this is a significant milestone for me. Absolutely, I was always a hard worker and love to hustle, but I guess as you start getting older you realize the same energy I putting for this CEO. I can put that same energy within myself.The one thing about me is I would bet on myself a million times even if I’ve already failed 3 million times. I’m a high stakes hustler, anybody you can find would agree with that lol. You just get tired of maintaining someones else’s dream and legacy. I want my own. And, The only lesson I have is always to have faith and stick to the game plan.

Can you tell me about the most exciting projects you are working on now?

I am actually working on a non-profit under my organization to help High School, and College athletes understand financial literacy. I’m starting this because they hear the same thing over and over again “Save your Money,””Invest your money,” “Do buy this or “Don’t by that.” It always has seemed crazy to me because you’re giving a 20-year-old a multi-million dollar deal, that just went from no having little to no money to getting a $10 million check overnight”. The purpose of this organization is to build a foundation on things they don’t teach us while we are in school for 8 hours day/5 days a week.

This gives the athlete more confidence and has the knowledge to maintain and build because the foundation is already there, they’ll have more experience on personal credit, business credit for investment ventures, how to buy and maintain the things they want, etc. So, I’m proud of what the company is building and can’t wait to roll it out.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Yeah, My mother(Sonya Caldwell). There’s no describing our relationship, the amount of love cant be counted nor described. She is the most powerful person I know. I will do anything in my power to make sure she gets everything she wants. Also my grandmother(Sandra), and my aunt(Beverly). All three of those women are dear to me. I’ll do anything for them. That simple.

How can other people help to bring positivity into the world?

I am huge on giving people hope when the odds are against them, just giving a much game as possible.

What 3 things would you advise someone who wanted to emulate your career? Can you share an example for each idea?

That’s crazy part is about this question. I emulate so many styles as far as business. I have picked up things from the likes of 50 Cent and Robert Krok, what great examples right (laughs). So somebody wanting to emulate my business stylethe first thing never sell yourself short, the second thing know your value, the third thing would be if you’re going to do something don’t half-ass it, you got to be a high stakes hustler. Go all in.

What is your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share a story of how that had relevance to your own life?

This is a good one. I was attending Essex County College at the time, and my marketing professor told me after ” Darion, it’s not where you get the education and its how you get it … You dont need to be here”. I never went back after that. After that dayI told myself I would make it without it, just as a personal goal from myself and I also didn’t like to have to owe 60-70k (laughs). Not a big fan of debt(laughs).I love that question.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Thank you. And I would just start a movement I guess for people to be comfortable in their own skin and move at their own pace. Sometimes you find your self-caught up with trying to keep up with celebrities, athletes, models, shit even pictures. I used to be caught up with always having $2000.00 outfits but never could show for it unless I got my check on payday. Once I cut that mindset out, I start seeing the bigger picture. Now hopefully I can keep wearing nice things(laugh), but a couple of businesses are owned by those nice things as well.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Thank you for having me, I am grateful for this opportunity. You can follow me on Instagram @cigars_n_caviar. That’s all I got for you (laughs). Thanks again

This was super inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!